A hand clappingly lovely trinity cream…..

I’ve always thought custards were rather icky, probably bad associations with powder based sauces that were served up along side crumbles and steamed puddings when I was at primary school (for the most part the meals were lovely and we had proper dinner ladies who cooked everything daily but where I would happily eat second helpings of the vegetables the puddings were never much to my liking…rice pudding, semolina and jam, gypsy tart….horrible,horrible,horrible though I would eat chocolate custard as that was served with chocolate pudding and also  because, hello, chocolate…lemon love cake was my absolute favourite school pudding and as far as I can remember it was a shortcake base, a thick lemon curd centre and then a crumbly top…I may be wrong as it’s nearly 35 years since I last tasted it but I know it used to make me so happy to see it written up on the lunch time board.)…anyway off subject a bit there…even at home custard tended to be made with a couple of heaped spoonfuls of a pinky yellow powder from a fat bright primary colours striped cardboard “tin” so I’d often skip puddings and have something from one of the cake tins that my mum would keep in the pantry.

Even once I was all grown up I’d just assumed custards and sauce anglises tasted like I remembered from when I was small so as far as I was concerned custard was just a yellow fright.  My boyfriend however loves them and so I happily make custard for him, served alongside crumbles and fruit pies, or if he’s feeling a bit poorly I’ll make him bannana custard (shudder…I hate banana flavoured things) …whisking up egg yolks and scolding cream, slowly stirring the two together, it’s lovely and relaxing to do….but I’ve never thought to actually taste them because you know, custard is yeuch.

trinity cream

But then last Summer when I was on a bit of an ice-cream making fit, a little light sort of came on in my mind…the ice-creams I was making were all for the most part custard based and I very much liked eating them, so I had a taste of the custard I was making..and then another little taste…and another…how stupid was I.  For years I’d been missing out on something so delicious……most puddings that are served with a hot custard I don’t care for but turn that custard into a creme brulee and I’m putty in your hands.

I’ve been tinkering about with creme brulee/trinity cream recipes for the past 6 months or so and this seems to be my best one.  It sounds a lot harder than it actually is to make, and my boyfriend’s mum declared it the best creme brulee she’d ever had (it’s one of her favourite puddings).

trinity cream with demerara sugar

Creme Brulee (enough for 4 people who like to properly taste a pudding)

Ingredients

300 ml of Jersey cream (not an extra super thick one as they often have a thickener added to them and that cooks up a bit odd) just a regular Jersey cream

200 ml of double cream

2 dessert spoons of castor sugar (it can be golden or vanilla if you like)

1 fat vanilla pod (yes good quality ones are a bit expensive but no more than a latte)

4 large organic egg yolks (freeze the whites, you can use those for meringues)

4 single sized ramikans

demerara sugar

Method

Put the ramikins into the freezer so they are nicely chilled before you go to use them.

Using a heavy bottomed pan, pour in the jersey cream and the double cream.  Cut the vanilla pod lengthwise and with the blade of a knife squish out the vanilla seeds and put seeds and pod into the cream.  Gently scold the cream and then allow to cool (this helps the vanilla to infuse)

Put the egg yolks and castor sugar in to a bowl and beat together until the mixture becomes quite pale.  It should thicken up and feel quite foamy.

Strain the cooled cream into a clean bowl through a sieve and wash up the heavy bottomed pan. (I also wash and pat dry the used  vanilla pod and then keep it in a mason jar of bourbon to make my own vanilla extract.)

Add the egg/sugar mix in to the clean pan and stir in the strained, cooled milk. Stir well together.

On a low heat and using a wooden spoon stir the mixture for between 10-15 minutes until it thickens.  You may like to use a wooden whisk for the last 5 minutes or so.  Don’t be tempted to turn up the heat as it might catch, just take it slowly, have the radio on, listen to a podcast…..just keep stirring.

Once the mixture has begun to thicken, turn off the heat and pour into a measuring jug and use this to now pour the mixture into the chilled ramikins.

Pop the ramikins into the fridge and now leave them there for at least 7 hours or overnight.

Sprinkle the top with some of the demerara sugar and place them carefully under a hot grill, just keep an eye so that the sugar doesn’t burn.  When the sugar is bubbled and ready, turn off the heat and carefully allow to cool for a few minutes before putting them back into the fridge for half an hour…. then serve to a round of ooohs and ahhhs, hand claps and you clever old thing-ing!

 

15 thoughts on “A hand clappingly lovely trinity cream…..

  1. This looks very nice. I don’t think we can get jersey cream here in the land of down under……but we can get (remarkably) clotted cream. Still I get your point about thickened cream. It’s everywhere here and one needs to read the labelling. Best wishes to Bernard.

    1. There’s no substitute for clotted cream on freshly baked scones is there….even though I can no longer eat them I’m looking forward to making a batch for my boyfriend’s folks when they come up next week for a visit, I love finger mixing flour and butter.
      A naturally thick cream can be used in the creme anglais (just make sure it doesn’t contain rennet)…. I know some people grumble about the price of a vanilla pod but they make such a difference to the taste.
      Cuddles and kisses have been given to the boy (he’s just come in from outside and smells like the garden, grassy and dew damp and a bit muddy) and I told him they were from you x

  2. It sounds amazing! I’m a bit like that with parsnips, I didn’t like them as a child and haven’t eaten them since. I did deliberate last week whether to have one but chickened out!! I really must try them next time. It’s daft really because there are so many things I love that I didn’t like as a child. Grow up Sharon!!!

    1. I like roast parsnips but don’t like them in things, like in soups and vegetable mashes…don’t like suede (it’s all grainy)…don’t like pears for the same reason…really hate rhubarb. (and I say I’m not a fussy eater.)
      Have made a cake with semolina which was nice and have in the past cooked it with milk and used it to tart up day old croissants (I used to be friends with someone who had a deli and she’d give me any un-sold croissants at the end of the day.)

      1. Oh yes I know the semolina roast potato trick, think Nigella did it on her very first tv series and have been in love with her and her roast potatoes ever since.

  3. I have to say that I love custard in all it’s incarnations, even “good old Birds” as Miss Read refers to it more than once in her books. At school we had raspberry sauce/custard with our chocolate pudding and it was delicious. My Mum was a dinner lady at our school and my sister and I used to go into the kitchen after the other children had gone out to play for a crafty second helping.
    you creme brûlée looks delicious, it’s my son’s favourite, i could do it when he comes home for a meal.
    anyway the point of all this is that I want to thank you for a lovely long read of your blog this afternoon, I’ve had a blissful time reading in between bursts of fan quilting also thanks to you !
    great blog.
    Susan

    1. So glad you’ve had a nice afternoon reading the blog and that your fan quilting is coming along…..my poor patch-working has been right neglected while I’ve been knitting.
      A school dinner lady for a mum…that sounds the best x

    1. When I was in my first year at primary school I was spectacularly sick while eating a crumble and custard….it was like something from The Exorcist and after that I couldn’t face cooked fruit or custard again.
      My creme brulee recipe makes enough for 4 generous portions plus a nice “cooks treat” tasting once the ramekins are filled x

Leave a Reply

