Stitchwort sparkles and the scent of honeysuckle in the morning……

the palest most delicate wisp of petal

It’s been too warm to wander off very far this past week so walks have been short ones before the day has really started…..the grass is damp and dewy and the morning is still rubbing sleep out of it’s eyes, but it’s the best time to get out of the house and head off over the marshes, walking slowly back along the lane behind our home.  The trees either side almost touch overhead so it’s nice and shady and the sunlight casts flickering patterns on the ground.

We’ve been noticing scatterings of bright red poppies over the last few weeks but I particularly liked this very pale pink poppy…..it’s rose tinged petals were so delicate, almost translucent.

marshmallow

Just round the corner from our house there’s a huge clump of mallow growing and turning the corner to see them in the sunshine they’re a proper treat to see….bright mauve flecked with a deeper almost Imperial purple.

Most mornings when I walk past them the air is filled with fat bees, tumbling and rolling over the flowers, clambering out from between petals all pollen dusty and golden.

marshmallow by the shed

The mallow is growing by a neighbours’ shed which is a bit tumble downy, last Autumn I took some pictures of a bright red creeper which was growing here so it’s nice that it’s also home to another burst of intense colour.

Even though it’s a wild flower and grows somewhat higgledy piggledy, I think it’s still a somewhat grand and stately plant (maybe it has posh relatives somewhere along the line….) I like it when the mallows grow really super tall like hollyhocks.

honeysuckle

Walking home along the back of the golf course means I pass by this little metal archway, I have no idea where it’s come from, how long it’s been here….but every year it gets covered in the most sweet smelling honeysuckle which is visited by butterflies and an assortment of softly buzzing bees.

The hedgerows along here are good for foraging, in a month or so the hedges will be full of jewel bright blackberries.  Come September and I’ll be picking crab apples and sloes (I’d like to make some crab apple jellies for winter gravies and am already noting where I’m seeing the biggest apple trees.)

honeysuckle growing up over the metal archway

It’s nice to look at either side of and it’s one of the “markers” we notice every time we come out this way for a walk…right now the honeysuckle smells so lovely, very scented and if I close my eyes I’m taken back to my Nanny’s bathroom when she used to use a talc by Yardley that smelt just the same.

wild roses

The wild roses are also doing well this year, these ones didn’t seem particularly perfumed so to appreciate them I had to stick my nose right into the flower, all too late seeing and then not quite managing to avoid the vicious clump of nettles that are growing all around the bushes.

starlight speckles of stitchwort

In the pastures the grasses are waist height and I can never resist running my hands and fingers through them as I walk by, allowing the grass heads to bunch up and pull off from the stem before I scatter a thousand seeds up in to the air…the motion of the seeds makes me think of when Bernard is helping me with my knitting, stitches un-ravelling everywhere…..even the dainty stitchwort is growing high and seems to sparkle in the sunshine like tiny stars.

When I’m sketching and jotting down new embroidery ideas I keep coming back to the stitchwort, everything seems to look better with a handful of small white petals flickering around the designs edge.

first sighting this year of tufted vetch

And I saw the first of this year’s tufted vetch, the intense blue of a bluebell, trailing up other plants with delicate twirling tendrils….along with the ragged robin it’s one of my favourite wild flowers, finding it amongst the grass makes me happy each Summer when it appears for just a few months.

Summer is properly here now and the wild flowers are changing, forget me nots have all been forgotten and even the yellow rattle isn’t quite as bright as a week or two ago, flashes of mauve appear further back, orchids and some straggly ragged robin.  But as one flower fades another seems to appear to take it’s place and I’m starting to see the first of the rose bay willow herb and now I’m watching out for the water mint which goes very well in cocktails and cordials.

4 thoughts on “Stitchwort sparkles and the scent of honeysuckle in the morning……

    1. Hi Sharon,
      I’m glad you enjoy my walks, it’s good here because a walkway was put in a few years ago which means there is access across the marsh nearly all year round for everyone, including people who use wheelchairs or who need to use larger mobility chairs.
      I think people are always surprised by how many wild flowers they actually can name, I don’t know any of the latin names though much prefering the wild flower names (and then when they appear in the garden they don’t seem so much like weeds) x

      1. That’s fantastic. We do have an old railway line locally that has been converted into a path but mostly it is surrounded by hedges and gardens! I would certainly love to learn more about the wild flowers 🙂

Leave a Reply

