A blue woodland……..

through the trees

 

On Friday I wrote about our walk up to the UEA…it’s a bit of a trek so we only do it when we’re feeling particularly energetic, however this time of year it’s always so beautiful and there’s a real treat once we enter the woods….most of the walk we were surrounded by the brightest sun-shiney flowers, dandelions, buttercups, marsh marigolds and the most vivid yellow tree bark……and then we saw the bluebells…..

 

a bank of bluebells

 

The colour is incredible, in fact after a while my eyes almost ache from seeing so much blue.

 

the scent of blue is overwhelming

 

The very air itself is heady with the scent, and it makes me feel sleepy, I always find this shade of blue particularly soporific….

 

a sea of bluebells

 

We walked up here last year so while I knew what to expect I still found myself surprised by the abundance of blue flowers….it’s quite overwhelming to just stand or sit, surrounded by blue as far as your eye can see…….

 

the air is a haze of blue

 

There’s pathways through the flowers so you can walk right though wide swathes of blue blossoms, the scent intoxicating and making me feel drowsy…..

 

as far as the eye can see

 

It feels like a fairy tale, where you’re waiting for something magical to happen, any minute a wolf or witch, a talking bird or a house on chicken legs suddenly appearing…..as far as I’m concerned this is one of the most beautiful places on earth….

 

bluebells and nettles

 

Everything is so lush and so full of energy….new leaves on the trees, big banks of dark green nettles, some waist high already and it’s not yet Summer…..

 

bluebells

 

Everywhere it’s the same soft and intense blue….from a distance it’s a haze, an artists smear of pigment along the bottom of a canvas…..breath taking every time I come here.

 

bluebell bliss

 

I’m sure there’s even more flowers than when we walked up here last year…it’s just incredible, the bluebells seem to go on forever…..

 

gnarly tree bark and bluebells

 

I love the gnarliness of the tree bark next to the soft blue flowers…..blue blue blue….even my wardrobe has felt it’s pull this week, I’ve been wearing blue dresses and green cardigans and now long for a pair of shoes or boots this exact intense shade.

 

in the bluebell wood

 

Whenever we go for a walk I take some folded pages of blotting paper and carefully snip blossom tips, pressing them between the leaves, fastening them with fat elastic bands ….the window sill in my workroom is cluttered now with little stacks of papers, slowly drying flowers hidden amongst them.

 

sunlight and shadows in the bluebell wood

 

Looking at the blossoms always gives me new ideas for embroideries and in a round about way this has inspired me with planning my workshops at Glory Days in Holt….Ruth asked if I’d like to teach some this Summer (I’d already taught a couple of patch-working ones when she had her shop in Norwich) and initially I was wondering what I could teach…

I don’t have a car so travelling by bus with a sewing machine wasn’t really appealing…but then after looking back through some sketchbooks and journals jotted with some of last years walks and meanders over the marshes and through the woods, I began to think about a botanical embroidery workshop…hand made stitches inspired by delicate wild flower blossoms.

The workshops will be held over the Summer at Ruth’s shop Glory Days which is in the North Norfolk town of Holt (her shop is conveniently near The Folly Tearoom) …exact dates are still to be confirmed but I’ll be able to post those details in the next couple of weeks.

3 thoughts on “A blue woodland……..

  1. Such beautiful pics. I am longing to go and walk among some bluebells, I just need someone willing to take me. Abi has taken some great photos in the woods where she works at weekends but it is isn’t quite the same as the real thing. I did get a glimpse at something beautiful at the weekend though. We drove past a field of bluebells in which were grazing about 30 deer, the image is burnt into my memory and it has kept me smiling all weekend! It is just such a shame there was nowhere suitable to stop for a photo! x

    1. Hi Sharon, that sounds so lovely….my mum lives in Suffolk and they get a lot of deer in the fields near her village…when i lived at home we’d regularly go out in her car, very early hours of the morning and walk round the footpaths to see the deer, sometimes there’d be herds, with bellowing stags in the distance, other days just a handful of does eating crops.

Leave a Reply

