Friendship block and pink shrimp reminiscing….

friendship block

 

I couldn’t resist making another block in my favourite colour combination…..this little patchwork block is called friendship block.

The triangles around the edge are a tad on the fiddly side, I’ve found that the clover black applique needles are the best for accurate piecing with small pieces of patchwork, they are incredibly skinny and sharp, I also favour vintage threads as they are slightly finer but feel smoother  and are less likely to tangle.  (I always give the thread a little tug, if it snaps then I know it’s too aged, but most of the time I find the vintage threads to be lovely and strong, and working with threads in such glorious colours and with such charming names …..frog green, dark ruby, gay kingfisher, frivolous pink…. never fails to raise a smile…

 

mosaic

 

This patchwork block is called Mosaic, it’s also called Connecticut.  I liked how the pale blue Lecien print complimented the chestnuty brown fabric, picking out the little blue flowers.

 

mosaic 2

 

This block is also called Mosaic (apparently,  there are at least 20 different blocks with Mosaic for a name).

One of the many things I like about patchwork is the many and varied names given to the blocks, and how the names change (but the block can stay the same) from region to region or even family to family…..I say po-ta-to, you say po-tato….

I love red and pink together, these fabrics make me think of sticky lollies, and those vivid coloured candy lipsticks and bright pink candy shrimps…..

 

nine joined blocks

 

And I forgot to post this picture the other day of the latest completed blocks for “dear ethel“..

I really need to do another count of how many blocks there are now, think I’ve made about ninety so far….so “just” thirty more blocks to go.  Part of me says to put this away for a while as I have things to start getting ready for Christmas fairs but it’s hard…..these mini blocks are very addictive and even though it’s not the fastest way to sew, hand piecing them has allowed me to consider other colour and fabric combinations that I don’t think I’d have been able to concentrate so much on if I’d sewn it on a machine…..the very act of holding the fabric, pinning and joining with tiny stitches and vintage threads has been such a pleasure.  A comfort for fingers and mind alike.

Saturday night I dreamt the quilt was finished, on waking and realising it wasn’t I felt sad, but also relieved as I’m enjoying sewing it too much to have it just finish.

Leave a Reply

