Edna’s Choice and other blocks…

ednas choice mini blocks 009

 

After having fun sewing the Churn Dash mini blocks for Ivo’s quilt, I’ve been sewing some more mini blocks for my version of a Dear Jane quilt.  I’ve started calling it my Dear Ethel quilt (partly because it isn’t really a Dear Jane, and also I love the name Ethel)…..

This block is called Edna’s Choice.  The blue fabric is from a rather tatty car booty vintage apron, I fussy cut the central square so the bright posy of flowers would be shown off nicely.

 

ednas choice mini blocks 012

 

This green and blue block uses some of my favourite floral green fabric.  It was on sale at a local sewing shop so I bought enough to make a frock for Summer which I’m currently drafting up at the moment.  The spotty fabric was from eldest sister’s fabric clearout.

This block is called either Prairie Queen or True Blue (which now has me humming  that eighties classic)……

 

ednas choice mini blocks 007

 

This bright and cheery block is called Morning Star…. when I sew the sashing around the blocks I’m thinking to use a plain yellow so keep it citrusy.

 

ednas choice mini blocks 010

 

This used up small scraps of one of my favourite fabrics of all time… the red fabric with the tiny flowers… there really was only a tiny amount left which was just enough to sew this block.

It seems to have quite a few names…. Pennsylvania, Criss Cross Quilt, Simple Cross and Single Irish Chain…….

Leave a Reply

