more dresden plates……

dresden plates 008

 

I’ve been busy sewing together more dresden plate blocks…  cutting out paper templates and  more fabric pieces.   It’s fun mixing the fabrics and colours together, I’m trying to make sure each plate is made up of different fabrics.

 

dresden plates 012

 

I’ve been using some of my favourite fabrics and have been able to mix in some fabrics from the huge stash my sister recently gave me.  One of the things I like about the dresden plate block is how they look better when you really mix up the fabrics that are being used.  Oranges and pinks, browns and blues…..

 

dresden plates 014

 

Laid out like this they make me think of pretty plates that you hang on the wall…….

I’m still a little undecided how I’m going to lay the blocks out, though I think I might use up some shirts I bought a few years ago to use as a background fabric.

One thought on “more dresden plates……

Leave a comment