Weekend reading……

book reading 005

 

Some years ago I saw and fell in love with the cloth bound classics that had the most beautiful covers designed  by Coralie Bickford-Smith…. each year (generally at birthdays and Christmas) I acquire a few more to add to my collection.  Last year I had some proper whopper sized volumes to read and I’ve only just finished them.  I’d never read The Count of Monte Cristo before and it was just brilliant… it kept me completely gripped pretty much from the start and I just loved it.   Emma is one of my favourite books (I know she is supposed to make your head shake with some of the things that she does but I can’t help liking her…..) Mr Knightley is such a wonderful character and I think Mrs Elton is one of the most awful women I have read in a book…

 

books 003

 

Some of my favourite covers in the  series so far include Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice….. and the beautiful The Hound of the Baskervilles.  It’s such a subtle reference to a character in the story.

 

 

books 005

 

I also really like the parrot cover to Treasure Island and the knitting on A Tale of Two Cities makes me shudder and get goosebumps… it’s such an awful reference to Madame Defarge and the women who sat knitting below the guillotine, both in colour and the embossing of the knitting design.

 

book reading 007

 

So as I’d finished the books in the pile by the bed, I finally treated myself to The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt.   Because her books are such a wonderful treat I was trying to make reading it last a couple of weeks, thinking that I’d maybe read a dozen or so pages each night….. however like her other two books I’m finding myself wholly captivated and drawn in to the story…. I’m just over half way through and don’t want to do anything except tuck myself into an armchair, drink cups of tea and lose myself in her words…..

Leave a Reply

