A paper stocking tutorial

This is an incredibly simple little tutorial for a paper stocking (in fact I’m almost ashamed to even give it such grand status) ….however over the years it has gotten me out of those last minute panics where I’ve spent all my money and still have a couple of gifts to buy for people.

All you need is a roll of wallpaper (I think wallpaper is the best as it is reasonably sturdy, also you can often pick up an odd roll in the sales for a pound or two so it can be quite a cheap purchase….if you are feeling flash then some swanky vintage wallpaper would look lovely), a pencil, some paper scissors and a sewing machine…..I have done this by hand before and to be quite honest it looked terrible so sewing machine it is.  I tend to save my slightly dull sewing machine needles for projects where I sew on paper as you really wouldn’t want to be sewing cloth after you’ve made this.

You’ll also need something to hold the stocking together while you sew it.  I’m using  some Clover Grips but you could use pins.

 

paper stocking 003

 

On the wrong side of some wallpaper draw a stocking shape.  If you think you’ll be making a few of these then it is worth making a cardboard template which you can just flip over .

Draw a second stocking the same size but with the toe pointing in the opposite direction.

Cut around the stocking but not quite up to your pencil line, leaving about a cm spare is pretty good.

Pin the two stockings together with the right sides facing outwards.  Giving yourself a little bit of a seam allowance, now machine around the stocking a couple of times, making sure you don’t sew along the top (if you do that you won’t be able to open it….yes I did this the first time so while I am sure no-one else is so silly I know this time of year makes simple sewing mistakes that much more likely)

 

paper stocking 004

 

Once the stocking is all sewn I like to trim down to the sewing line about 1/2 a cm with the paper scissors, any closer and the stocking liable to tear.

So now your stocking is finished (you can see why I said it isn’t really worthy of “tutorial status”) and you need to fill it.  At home, we normally have a big tin of brightly wrapped sweets, a bowl of nuts in their shells, small oranges such as clementines, candy canes, chocolate coins, and I tuck away a couple of miniature bottles of Christmas Spirit just in case of last present emergencies.  So mostly it’s using what  we have around the house.

A small stocking (and these measure about 13 inches long and about 5 inches wide) can be filled with a selection of the above.

If you are using these as gifts for children then they can be filled with small bags of sweeties such as dolly mixture, along with chocolate coins.

 

paper stocking 013

 

Sometimes I glue a strip of paper in at the top to look like a hanging loop before I sew the top closed.

If you prefer you can leave the stocking open, things like clementines and sweeties can sit at the top so the stocking looks nice and full.  However I like to sew across the top so I don’t fill the stocking quite to the top, that way it doesn’t spill everywhere while I’m sewing it.

When the stocking is closed I don’t worry about wrapping any of the gifts inside, if the top is open then I like to wrap any small bottles or bags of sweeties in brightly coloured tissue paper.

Leave a Reply

