Apple and Banana Crumble

puddings 006

 

This is so good for using up squishy old brown bananas, it sweetens the apple without the need for extra sugar, and if you use really really squishy bananas then the taste is much more subtle.  (I should note that the only crumble I really like is Blackberry crumble but my boyfriend is a big fan of this, and will often bring home baking apples in the Autumn and Winter as a subtle hint that I need to make a pudding.)

Ingredients

baking apples

really squishy brown banana

cinnamon/nutmeg

knob of unsalted butter

Crumble Mix for Topping

(made in the ratio of  6:4:2)

6oz flour

4oz unsalted butter

2oz castor sugar

Rub the butter and the flour together until it goes breadcrumby crumbly, then rub in the sugar.  Sometimes I use half soft brown sugar and half castor sugar.  I tend to make up a big batch of crumble mix and then store it in the freezer as it keeps really well.  I’ve also added some oats to the mix before and also some sliced hazelnuts.  I don’t freeze these but just toss them in at the end.

Method for the crumble

Preheat the oven to gas 6.  Butter your baking dish.

Peel and core your apples.  Slice them thinly and arrange a layer of them in the base of the baking dish.  Squidge in some of the soft banana, and sprinkle some cinnamon.  Add another layer of thinly sliced apples, and squidge in more of the soft banana and again sprinkle a little cinnamon.  Finally, add a third layer of thinly sliced apple and use up any remaining banana and cinnamon.

Cover with the crumble topping

Bake for about 25 minutes.

Depending on the depth and size of your crumble you may need to bake it for a bit longer.  Because I slice my apples pretty thinly (about 1/4 of an inch thick) I don’t cook my apples before I put them in the crumble.

If I have made a big fruit crumble and there is some left for the next day, when I re-heat it, I’ll put some of the crumble mix on a baking tray and let that toast for a few minutes so that there is still a  crumbly topping.

Leave a Reply

