Paddington Bear Pudding

puddings 014

 

When me and my younger sisters were small we all loved Paddington Bear, and one Christmas we were bought a Paddington Bear board game.  It was pretty simple, “Paddington” travels around London and you get to pick up souvenirs like postcards and photos, ticket stubs etc and if he lands on a marmalade….you get another go!   (this was the best thing ever…. I know it sounds a bit daft but we loved it)  So this pudding is named after my favourite bear, his fondness for a marmalade sandwich, and for all those rainy afternoons when me and my sisters would sprawl out on the carpet and try to land on a marmalade square..

It’s such an easy to make pudding, it’s pretty cheap to make and it tastes lovely.  It is also nice to eat cold the next day although I must confess to being such a glutton I ate all of the pudding I made last night myself  (would it help  if I said it wasn’t a very large pudding)

Paddington Bear Pudding

Ingredients

Stale bread

Unsalted Butter

Marmalade

Milk

1 egg

1 tablespoon of vanilla sugar

Baking dish (the one I used was 4 1/2 by 6 1/2 inches)

Method

Butter your dish.  Remove the crusts and lightly butter your bread.  On every other slice of bread spread a little marmalade.

Lay the buttered and “marmaladed” bread in the dish, packing them in reasonably tight.  Sprinkle over the vanilla sugar.

Beat the egg with some milk.  I used about 200ml of milk for my pudding but if you are making a bigger pudding then you will need more milk and will need to use another egg)  Pour over the bread and allow to soak in for at least half an hour.

Preheat your oven to gas 6.  Place in the oven and bake for about 25 minutes (again this depends rather on the size and depth of your pudding.  If you are making a larger, deeper pudding then allow at least 30 minutes baking time)

Remove from oven and serve.  It is particularly good with thick cream.

Makes enough for 2 people or one greedy person.

Butter

Leave a Reply

